Thursday, June 14, 2012

Art, prose and music under the stars June 21 at "Brush Creek Presents"

Enjoy an outdoor summer evening while soaking up arts and culture at the next Brush Creek Presents. On Thursday, June 21 from 8:30- 10:00pm, Brush Creek Foundation for the Arts will host another evening of presentations by their current artists-in-residence. Please join us on the lawn at Grand Encampment Museum located at 807 Barnett Ave. Bring your blanket or camp chair.

Month of June presenters include Kari Besharse, who is a composer of acoustic and electroacoustic music, a guitarist, an educator, a sci-fi nut, and an outdoors enthusiast. Her works, which incorporate sounds from acoustic instruments, found objects, the natural world, and synthesis, are often generated from a group of sonic objects or material archetypes that undergo processes of rupture, degradation, alternation, expansion, and distortion. Kari is currently a lecturer at Southeastern Louisiana University.

Christina Askounis grew up in a military family and has lived in diverse places. She now lives in Durham, North Carolina, where she teaches creative writing at Duke University.In 2007, her fantasy novel, The Dream of the Stone, originally published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in 1993, was reissued in simultaneous hardcover and trade paperback by Simon and Schuster. Publishers Weekly called it “a first-rate fantasy in the tradition of Madeline L’Engle and Charles Williams . . . well-paced, full of magic, mystery and invention,” and Madeline L’Engle described it as “a fantasy with a depth and richness seldom found in a novel for young readers.”She is now working on finishing her second novel, and will be reading passages during Brush Creek Presents.

Christopher Zuarʼs music has been performed by many jazz orchestras, including The New England Conservatory Jazz Composerʼs Workshop Orchestra among others.Feeling at home writing both contemporary jazz and classical, Zuarʼs music has been hailed as “...clever, intuitive, engaging, accessible and ultimately beautiful.” In 2012, Zuar won a prestigious ASCAP Young Jazz Composers award for his piece Remembrance.Zuar holds a BM in Jazz Composition from the New England Conservatory in Boston. He is currently pursuing a Masters degree in Jazz Composition at the Manhattan School of Music.

Lynne Huffer is a nonfiction writer and teacher. She is currently Professor of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Emory University, and is the author of four books: Are the Lips a Grave? (forthcoming); Mad for Foucault (2010); Maternal Pasts, Feminist Futures (1998); and Another Colette (1992). Her creative nonfiction has appeared or is forthcoming in Cadillac Cicatrix, Dos Passos Review, Eleven Eleven, Passager, The Rambler, RioGrande Review, Southern California Review, Sou'wester, and Talking River Review. She is currently working on a memoir, Sleeping Sickness and Other Queer Histories. Lynn is currently collaborating with visual artist Jennifer Yorke to create a pop-up book based on her memoir.

Jennifer Yorke is an artist who makes collages, drawings, prints, photographs and books. Jennifer’s work examines the slippage between the public and private self, and is held in collections at the Auckland Gallery of Art, the Art Gallery of New South Wales, the Huntsville Museum of Art and other institutions. She graduated from Carleton College cum laude and with Distinction (honors), and holds an MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, which she attended through a Graduate Trustee Fellowship. Yorke lives in Chicago with her husband Rob and dogs Fabio and Leonard.

Heidi Jensen is an Associate Professor of Art at Ball State University in Indiana. Her work explores modes of drawing and probes issues regarding narrative, biology and function. Recent exhibitions include Drawing Now Paris with La GalerieParticuliere; Brush, a solo exhibition at the Kimura Gallery, University of Alaska in Anchorage; and Drawing Resurfaced at the Purdue University Galleries in Indiana. Heidi is a fellow of several residency programs including the Millay Colony for the Arts in New York State, La Napoule Foundation in France, and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts and now Brush Creek Foundation for the Arts.

Nancy Gail Ring has received numerous awards for her fine art, such as the Vermont Studio Center Artist’s Fellowship Award in Painting, the Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation/NEA Fellowship Award in Works on Paper, and a New York Foundation for the Arts Artists’ Fellowship Award in Drawing. Nancy is also the author of a critically acclaimed memoir, Walking On Walnuts, filled with thirteen of her drawings, (national media, regional bestseller.) Nancy earned her MFA in Painting from The University of the Arts, Philadelphia, Pa., where she was nominated for the Robert Motherwell Foundation Dedalus Award in Painting, and her BFA from Syracuse University School of Visual and Performing Arts. A transplanted Manhattanite, she lives in northern New Jersey with her fourteen-year-old son.

Brush Creek Presents is afree and informal, monthly community outreach program that features visual presentations, readings and music by the current artists-in-residence. Light snacks are provided, courtesy of Brush Creek Ranch.

The Brush Creek Foundation for the Arts offers dedicated individuals a supportive environment in which to further their creative development. While at Brush Creek, visual artists, writers, musicians and composers have the opportunity to experience unfettered time to allow for thoughtful reflection and meditation on the creative process in a setting that preserves the agricultural and historical integrity of the land.For more information please visit or call Brush Creek Foundation for the Arts at (307)710-7312.

Graphics: 1. “Shunt”, a drawing by Heidi Jensen; 2. “Alchemy” a painting by Nancy Gail Ring

No comments:

Post a Comment