Thursday, August 12, 2010

Gov. Freudenthal appoints three new Wyoming Arts Council board members

Three new board members have been appointed to the Wyoming Arts Council Board by Governor Dave Freudenthal.

Duane Evenson, Mayor of Gillette, was appointed to fill the remainder of a term vacated by a former board member, through June 30, 2011. Evenson was recognized with a Governor’s Arts Award in 2009 for his strong support of the arts in Gillette during his terms as mayor.

Leslie A. Shinaver of Afton, and Karen Stewart of Jackson, will serve three-year terms ending February 28, 2013 and can each serve a second term if re-appointed by the next Governor.

Shinaver is an educator in the Lincoln County School District #2, teaching language arts at Swift Creek High School. She is an active member and officer of the Star Valley Arts Council, and has been a small business owner, receiving the Wyoming Business Association’s 1996 Young Entrepreneur of the Year.

Stewart has recently retired as the executive director of the Art Association of Jackson, and still remains on the board for Jackson’s Center for the Arts. She is familiar with all aspects of non-profits, and has also worked as an arts advocate for the state.

Dave Kathka, two-term board member from Rock Springs, stepped down and was presented with a thank you plaque for his service by Director of the Department of State Parks and Cultural Resources Milward Simpson.

Judy Case from Cheyenne, also a two-term board member, has stepped down from the board.

The Wyoming Arts Council Board is made up of 10 members who are appointed by the Governor for three-year terms. The board serves in an advisory capacity to the Wyoming Arts Council, and makes determinations on grants awards.