Tuesday, August 10, 2010

WAC announces creative writing fellowship winners

The Wyoming Arts Council is pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 creative writing fellowships in creative nonfiction.

They are Joel Burdess of Casper, Jayme Feary of Jackson and Laramie’s Pam Galbreath. Each of the writers will receive a $3,000 prize. They also will receive a $500 stipend to read their work at the Equality State Book Festival Sept. 24-25 in Casper.

Receiving honorable mentions are Diane Panozzo, Tie Siding, and Mary Beth Baptiste, Laramie.

The judge for this year’s competition was Lee Gutkind, author and founder of Creative Nonfiction magazine. He will join the three recipients for the annual fellowship reading on Friday, Sept. 24, 1-3 p.m., in the lobby of the Goodstein Foundation Library at Casper College. The event is free and open to the public.

This is the 23rd year for the WAC’s creative writing fellowships. The competition is open to Wyoming residents who are 18 years and older and are not enrolled full-time in a high school, college or university arts program. There is no entry fee. Applications are available each spring. Next year's category is fiction.

FMI: Mike Shay at 307-777-5234 or mshay@state.wy.us.