Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Artwork selected for tenth annual Governor's Capitol Art Exhibition

BREAKING NEWS (as they say on TV):

Works by 40 of Wyoming’s best artists have been selected for inclusion in the Tenth Annual Governor’s Capitol Art Exhibition, and will be on display at the Wyoming State Museum in Cheyenne from May 8 through June 5.

An opening reception will be held at the State Museum on May 21 from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Governor Dave Freudenthal will be on hand to present this year’s purchase awards. The Bobby Hathaway Juror’s Choice and People’s Choice awards will also be presented. The reception is free and open to the public.

Overall, this year’s show features 40 artistic pieces selected by juror Deborah Mitchell, director of the Apex Gallery and faculty member in the Humanities Department at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology.

The Governor’s Capitol Art Exhibition is produced through the cooperative efforts of the offices of the five elected officials, the Department of State Parks and
Cultural Resources, the Wyoming Arts Council, the Wyoming Business Council and the Division of Travel and Tourism.

The exhibition promotes and encourages Wyoming artists while building an art collection available for public officials to exhibit state talent in their offices. To date, the collection has over 110 pieces loaned out for one year, then rotated. Purchase awards have averaged more than $11,000 each year; in addition, the public makes purchases from the exhibit.

The Governor’s Capitol Art Exhibition is sponsored by Wal-Mart, Anadarko Petroleum, McMurry Foundation, Cheyenne Light Fuel and Power, Peabody Energy and Capital Lumber Company.

Artists selected this year are Joe Arnold, Ronald Hansen, Daniel Hayward, Travis Ivey, Patrick Kikut, Crystal Lawrence, Linda Lillegraven, Ginnie Madsen, Jon Madsen and Jeanie Schlump of Laramie.

Joshua Eastman, Lynn Newman, Justin Richards, Kevin Robinett, Georgia Rowswell and Gail Sundell of Cheyenne; Ann Arndt, Don Butler, Danna Hildebrand, Margie Newman and Dianne Wyatt of Sheridan

Brad Cool, Christianna Dvarishkis, Barbara Kuxhausen and Carol Swinney of Casper; Jenny Dowd of Alpine; Robert Vore of Beulah; Trudy Schoonover of Buffalo; Cindy Bennett and Elijah Cobb of Cody; Mike Conaway of Evanston; Edie Reno and Joan Sowada of Gillette; Valerie Seaberg of Jackson; Jane Woods of Powell; Paul Ng of Rock Springs; Jerry Palen of Saratoga; Karyne Dunbar of Shell and Miga Rossetti and Shannon Troxler of Wilson.